NYC Muslim Day Parade 2014

So to my surprise there was a Muslim Day Parade in New York City.  I never knew such a parade even existed and neither did my husband who for most of his years as a Muslim, has been pretty active with several Muslim organizations across the US.  I found out about the event while searching for themes for a Muslim parade float (I’ll get back to my reason for searching that later).  Sadly, in my google searches, I mostly came across websites that critiqued the parade and used anything they found at the parade to bash Islam with their narrow extremist views.  The hottest topic among the bashing was the jihadi flag or what is now known as the ISIS flag.  This flag that many are associating with this evil group, is simply the Muslim declaration of faith, what we call the shahada.  The flag is usually in either black or…

View original post 708 more words

